What are the best call recording and analysis tools for sales teams?
Nobody has tested these tools against each other in a way you can actually lean on. On 8 September 2026, Attention read the most-cited page from each of the six most-cited domains answering this question, and five of the six lead with the p

Quick answer: Nobody has tested these tools against each other in a way you can actually lean on. On 8 September 2026, Attention read the most-cited page from each of the six most-cited domains answering this question, and five of the six lead with the product their own publisher sells. Between them they name at least twenty products, and not one of the twenty has a published transcription accuracy figure, even though MaxIQ and Kickscale both say accuracy belongs at the top of your buying criteria. The best tool for your team is whichever one makes the fewest errors on ten of your own calls, which you should count yourself; Attention sells conversation intelligence and competes with most of the companies named below, so treat this as a method and a snapshot, not a verdict.
First published and last updated 8 September 2026. The only first-party data here is Attention's coding of six web pages. The sample, the method and the gaps are stated in section 7. No customer call data was used. The six pages were opened and read against their live URLs on 8 September 2026, and the secondhand figures those pages cite were not checked against their own primary reports, so each one is labelled as secondhand where it appears.
What are the numbers on this page?
| Metric | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pages read for this article | 6, the top-cited page from each of the six top-cited domains, read 8 September 2026 | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Pages leading with their own publisher's product | 5 of 6 | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Pages whose top-ranked entry we could not determine | 1 of 6 (Kickscale) | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Pages naming transcription accuracy as a buying criterion | 2 of 6 (MaxIQ, Kickscale) | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Pages publishing an accuracy figure for any tool | 0 of 6 | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Distinct products named across the six pages | At least 20 | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Those products with a published accuracy figure | 0 of 20 | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Pages carrying both a named author and a date | 1 of 6 (Cirrus Insight) | Attention editorial review (first-party) |
| Gong per seat, per Cirrus Insight | About $1,200 to $1,500 per user per year | Cirrus Insight, 29 May 2026 |
| Gong per seat, per Claap | $1,200 to $2,400 per year, plus a platform fee from about $5,000 per year | Claap, undated |
| Gong list price published by Gong | None | Kickscale, prices as of March 2026 |
| Dialpad entry price, per Cirrus Insight | About $23 to $35 per user per month | Cirrus Insight, 29 May 2026 |
| G2 rating spread across Claap's eight tools | 4.4 to 4.8 | Claap, undated |
| US sales teams using AI call recording | 46% in 2024, up from 38% in 2023 | Zadarma 2024, as cited by Claap |
| Recorded calls analysed per rep per month | 146, up from 112 the year before | UC Today 2024, as cited by Claap |
| Rep time spent on non-selling work | 60% | Salesforce State of Sales, edition year not stated, as cited by MaxIQ |
| Gong's self-reported capture rate | 99% of customer interactions | Gong product page (vendor self-report) |
What is call recording and analysis software?
Call recording and analysis software is a tool that captures a sales conversation, turns it into searchable text, and pulls out the parts a sales team acts on: objections, competitors named, pricing pushback, next steps, and who else was in the room. Gong's product page defines the recording layer as technology that captures, stores and organises voice conversations across phone, web conference and voice over internet protocol, or VoIP.
What people get wrong is treating that as one job. It is three layers sold as one product, and the seams are where buyers get hurt.
- Recording captures the conversation, and it almost never fails.
- Transcription makes the conversation searchable, and it fails quietly, on exactly the words you care about.
- Analysis makes the conversation actionable, and it fails by producing something nobody opens.
Cirrus Insight draws the same three-layer split in its guide of 29 May 2026. The category also trades under the name conversation intelligence, which Claap, Kickscale and the software review site G2 all use for the same thing. For the mechanics rather than the buying advice, we wrote sales call recording separately.
What does the evidence show?
Most of what you can verify on the six cited pages is about the buying guides themselves, not about which tool is best.
- Vendor rankings, first-party count. Attention read six pages on 8 September 2026. Five of them lead with the product their own publisher sells: Cirrus Insight lists Cirrus Insight first, MaxIQ lists MaxIQ first, Nooks writes "Nooks is the top sales call recording and analysis software in 2026," Claap puts Claap in the first row of its own comparison table, and Gong's page is Gong's product page.
- One page we could not code. Kickscale publishes a numbered list of seven tools, but the entry numbered 1 was absent from the portion we captured. We recorded it as not determined rather than guessing.
- The missing measurement. MaxIQ puts transcription accuracy first in its buying criteria and warns that a system mishearing a price, a competitor or a decision date writes the wrong value into the CRM, the customer relationship management system your forecast reads from. Kickscale lists voice recognition precision as a criterion, flagging dialects and specialist terms in the DACH region, meaning Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Neither publishes an error rate. Nor do the other four pages.
- Vendor self-report. Gong claims it captures 99% of customer interactions and is trusted by more than 4,500 organisations. All of it is Gong's own numbers about Gong, on Gong's marketing page, with no method attached.
- Secondhand market data. Claap cites Zadarma (2024) for 46% of US sales teams using AI call recording, up from 38% in 2023, and SNS Insider (2024) for a projection of roughly 57%. We read those figures inside Claap, not in the primary reports.
- Three sources, three prices. Cirrus Insight puts Gong at about $1,200 to $1,500 per user per year, Claap puts it at $1,200 to $2,400 per seat per year plus a platform fee from about $5,000, and Kickscale says Gong publishes no fixed price list at all.
- Reasoning, labelled as reasoning. Accuracy is not a property of a tool. It is a property of a tool paired with your audio, your accents, your product names, and the competitor your buyers mention once and never again.
The six pages are enough to say what this category does, and roughly what it costs. They are not enough to rank the products. No page in the set claims the controlled test that would settle it.
What this article covers
- Whether a single best tool exists.
- What the six guides agree on, and whether the agreement is worth anything.
- Why nobody publishes transcription accuracy.
- What these tools cost, and why the published prices contradict each other.
- Whether star ratings and market forecasts help you choose.
- Whether the choice moves win rates at all.
- What Attention's review of the cited pages found, and what it misses.
- The four kinds of tool in this market, and the twenty products in them.
- What goes wrong when you buy straight from the guides.
- How to run the accuracy test on your own calls.
- What to look at when the tool is not the problem.
The evidence is stronger for 1 through 5, which you can check on the source pages today, than for 9 through 11, which are practice rather than proof and say so where they sit. Each section labels its evidence type.
1. Is there a best call recording and analysis tool for sales teams?
No. Five of the six most-cited pages for this question rank their own publisher's product first. That is what vendor pages are for, and it still means the ordering you are reading is a marketing artifact rather than a finding. Three of those pages hand the number-one slot to three different products, on no shared method:
- Cirrus Insight's list starts with Cirrus Insight.
- MaxIQ's list starts with MaxIQ.
- Nooks says it outright: "Nooks is the top sales call recording and analysis software in 2026."
Counting Gong among the five is close to a tautology, since a product page exists to sell the product. Set Gong aside and the figure becomes four of the five remaining pages, with Kickscale uncoded. The pattern survives the fairer count.
Buy on an error rate you measured on your own calls. We work the same argument through for the wider category in AI sales tools platform selection.
2. What do the six guides agree on, and does the agreement mean anything?
They agree that recording is solved and the value has moved to what happens after the call. Six vendors agreeing with each other is not evidence.
Ryan O'Connor writes in the Cirrus Insight post of 29 May 2026 that "recording the call isn't the real value anymore." MaxIQ opens on the same idea: sales teams are not struggling to record calls, they are struggling to turn recordings into something usable. Nooks frames the job as making each conversation improve the next one.
They are probably right about the direction. As buying advice, the agreement is worth close to nothing. Six companies describing the category they sell into are not independent of each other, and confirmation would take a measurement none of them offers.
One real number sits inside the agreement. MaxIQ cites Salesforce's State of Sales for the claim that reps spend 60% of their time on non-selling work, typing notes into the CRM among it. It does not say which edition of that report it read, and we did not open the report, so treat the 60% as undated. If it is roughly right, the prize here is admin removal rather than coaching.
3. Why does no published guide report transcription accuracy?
Two reasons, and this section is reasoning rather than a measured finding. Whoever publishes a number first hands rivals a target. And accuracy was never one number to begin with.
MaxIQ and Kickscale both put transcription quality near the top of their selection criteria. MaxIQ argues that a price, a competitor, a product name, a decision date or an objection may come up once in an hour-long call, so an error there becomes a wrong CRM field, and the wrong CRM field becomes a wrong forecast. Kickscale flags dialects, multiple languages and specialist terminology. Both then rank tools without giving an accuracy figure for any of them.
An average word error rate would not settle it anyway. What ruins a summary is a rare word: your product name, the competitor mentioned once in passing, the number inside the pricing objection. A tool can be excellent on ordinary English and still fail on the twenty words you care about.
Which leaves you measuring it. Ten calls, a spreadsheet, an afternoon.
4. What do these tools cost?
Three published sources give three different answers for the same vendor, and that vendor publishes nothing itself.
| Source | What it reports for Gong | As of |
|---|---|---|
| Kickscale | No fixed price list; a platform fee plus user-based licences | March 2026 |
| Cirrus Insight | About $1,200 to $1,500 per user per year | 29 May 2026 |
| Claap | $1,200 to $2,400 per seat per year, plus a platform fee from about $5,000 per year, quoting an anonymous Head of Sales | Undated |
Read those three at their widest and two teams of the same size could be quoted figures that differ by more than the cheaper contract is worth in total. At the other end of the market, Cirrus Insight reports Dialpad, a business phone system with recording and real-time coaching built in, at about $23 to $35 per user per month.
Don't budget from a blog post. Ask each vendor, in writing, for the platform fee, the per-seat fee, the seat minimum, the contract term, and what happens to your recordings if you leave. Compare those five numbers instead of the ranges above.
And note who is telling you. Claap, the source of the widest Gong estimate here, sells against Gong, so its cost section is an argument as much as an estimate.
5. Do star ratings and market forecasts help you choose?
Not much. Claap's comparison table lists G2 ratings for eight tools and the spread runs from 4.4 to 4.8. Four tenths of a point across a whole market tells you the products mostly work. It tells you nothing about which one fits your team.
The market forecasts help less. Claap cites Future Market Insights (2024) for conversation intelligence growing from $23.4B in 2024 to $55.7B by 2035, then cites Verified Market Reports (2026) for a call analytics segment growing from $3.46B in 2026 to $5.95B by 2032. Different scopes, different firms, and they stack into nothing you can act on.
Adoption data at least describes buyers. Zadarma (2024), as cited by Claap, puts US sales teams using AI call recording at 46%, up from 38% in 2023.
One figure in Claap's set needs handling with care. Claap cites UC Today (2024) for reps analysing an average of 146 recorded calls a month, up from 112 the year before. We have not opened the UC Today piece, so we cannot tell you what "analysed" counts as inside that number.
6. Does the tool you pick actually change win rates?
No page in the set publishes evidence that tool choice moves win rates. The strongest contrary argument deserves its full weight here, because it cuts against shopping carefully at all.
Claap argues that adoption decides these deployments rather than model quality. Make reps duplicate work and they abandon the tool, and a badly configured rollout becomes "just another dashboard nobody opens." Nooks makes a version of the same case from the other side: call analysis pays off only when it sits next to the dialing and sequencing a rep already does. If both are right, two tools with identical error rates can produce completely different outcomes. Picking on accuracy alone would then be picking on the wrong axis.
That sits awkwardly next to everything above. We keep saying count the errors, because nobody else will publish them. But a clean transcript that nobody uses is still worthless, and Claap and Nooks both look plausible to us on that point. Neither has been measured by anyone.
What survives is narrower than the guides imply. Recording and transcription look close to commodities. The differentiator is whether the output lands where the work already happens. And nobody in this set demonstrates a revenue effect for any product in the category. Gong's 99% capture claim is Gong's own. Every other flattering number in this market is somebody's own too.
So your next step is not to trust this article. Run two trials on the same ten calls and count the errors.
7. What did Attention's review of the six cited pages find?
This is Attention's review of six public web pages. Not an independent audit. Not a study of anyone's calls.
On 8 September 2026 we took the pages answer engines cite most often for the question "What are the best call recording and analysis tools for sales teams?", ranked by citation frequency, and read the top-cited page from each of the six top-cited domains: Cirrus Insight, Kickscale, MaxIQ, Nooks, Claap and Gong. For each page we recorded which product appeared first, whether transcription accuracy was named as a selection criterion, whether any accuracy figure appeared, whether a controlled test was claimed, and whether the page carried a visible author and date.
| What we coded | Result across the six pages |
|---|---|
| Publisher's own product placed first | 5 of 6 (Cirrus Insight, MaxIQ, Nooks, Claap, and Gong's own product page) |
| Top-ranked entry not determinable from the captured text | 1 of 6 (Kickscale) |
| Transcription accuracy named as a buying criterion | 2 of 6 (MaxIQ, Kickscale) |
| An accuracy figure published for any named tool | 0 of 6 |
| A controlled test of one tool against another | 0 of 6 |
| Visible named author and publication date | 1 of 6 (Cirrus Insight, by Ryan O'Connor, 29 May 2026) |
Methodology and limits. We captured roughly the first 900 words of each page, which covers the framing, the selection criteria and the top of each ranked list, but not the tool-by-tool detail further down. So "no accuracy figure published" means none in the portion we read, and a figure could sit lower on one of these pages. We have not published the citation window, the tool that produced the citation ranking, the raw citation counts, or the full list of cited pages beyond these six, and we read one page per domain, so a domain with three cited pages is represented here by one of them. All six pages are live and editable by their publishers, so this is a snapshot of a single day, and Attention ran no analysis of its own customer call data for this article. Attention sells conversation intelligence and competes with most of the companies coded above.
8. What kinds of call recording and analysis tools are there?
Four groups. Which group you buy from decides more than which brand you buy.
- Meeting recorders and note-takers. MaxIQ places Fireflies and Fathom here, and Claap adds tl;dv, a lightweight recorder with video bookmarking on a freemium plan. If the note is all you need, buy here and stop.
- Conversation intelligence platforms. Gong, Chorus.ai (part of ZoomInfo), Modjo, Avoma, Jiminny, Claap and Cirrus Insight sit here, selling coaching, keyword trackers, call libraries and deal risk flags. Check whether anyone at your company will actually run the coaching programme, because the platform will not run it for you.
- Revenue and engagement platforms with conversation intelligence bundled in. Clari Copilot ties call data to forecasting, Salesloft and Outreach include conversation analysis in a broader engagement subscription, and HubSpot's version comes inside Sales Hub Enterprise, per Claap. Apollo, Revenue.io and MaxIQ appear in the cited pages as bundled platforms too. Check what you already own before you shortlist anything here. A seat you already pay for beats a seat you have to buy.
- Phone systems and dialers that record. Dialpad, RingCentral, and Nooks on the outbound side. If call volume is the constraint, buy here and expect thinner analysis than a dedicated platform gives you.
The edges blur. A dialer will sell you analysis. A conversation intelligence vendor will sell you a recorder. Start with group 3 if you already pay Salesloft, Outreach, HubSpot or Clari, and only then look at a dedicated seat.
Which products are named, and what is published about each?
Every product named in the portions of the six guides we read, with whatever those sources publish about price. A blank means the sources we read stated none.
| Product | Category | Pricing as published in the six guides | Accuracy figure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fireflies | Meeting recorder | Freemium plus per-seat upgrades (Claap) | None |
| Fathom | Meeting recorder | Not stated | None |
| tl;dv | Meeting recorder | Freemium plus per-seat upgrades (Claap) | None |
| Gong | Conversation intelligence | No list price; three sources disagree (see cost table) | None |
| Chorus.ai (ZoomInfo) | Conversation intelligence | Custom, varying with team size and ZoomInfo data packages (Kickscale) | None |
| Modjo | Conversation intelligence | No published price, demo required (Kickscale); per-seat, no platform fee (Claap) | None |
| Avoma | Conversation intelligence | Not stated | None |
| Jiminny | Conversation intelligence | Not stated | None |
| Claap | Conversation intelligence | Per-seat, no platform fee (Claap) | None |
| Cirrus Insight | Conversation intelligence | Flex model, paying only for features used (Cirrus Insight) | None |
| Clari / Clari Copilot | Revenue platform | Custom quote (Claap) | None |
| Salesloft | Revenue platform | Per-seat (Claap) | None |
| Outreach | Revenue platform | Not stated | None |
| HubSpot Sales Hub Enterprise | Revenue platform | Included in the Sales Hub Enterprise subscription (Claap) | None |
| MaxIQ | Revenue platform | Not stated | None |
| Apollo | Revenue platform | Not stated | None |
| Revenue.io | Revenue platform | Not stated | None |
| Dialpad | Phone system | About $23 to $35 per user per month (Cirrus Insight) | None |
| RingCentral | Phone system | Not stated | None |
| Nooks | Dialer and outbound workspace | Not stated | None |
Twenty products, zero published accuracy figures. That one fact should shape your buying process more than any other row in the table.
Attention is absent from the list because none of the six guides names it, and Attention has no published accuracy figure either.
9. What goes wrong when you buy straight from the guides?
Six failure modes, and every one of them starts with trusting somebody else's ordering.
| What you end up with | The situation that produces it | What to do instead |
|---|---|---|
| A tool ranked first by the company selling it | Reading a best-of list published by a vendor in the category | Check the domain in the URL against the first product in the list, then read a page from a vendor you would never buy from |
| A budget you cannot defend | Copying a price range from a blog for a vendor with no list price | Get the platform fee, per-seat fee, seat minimum, term and data export terms in writing |
| A choice made on 4.7 versus 4.6 stars | Aggregate ratings compressed into a 0.4 point band | Ignore the aggregate; read reviews from teams your size, in your language and industry |
| Accuracy taken on trust | No page in the set publishes an error rate | Run the same ten calls through two or three trials and count errors on names, prices, dates and competitors |
| A pilot that dazzles and then fails in production | Testing on a clean scheduled video call with good audio | Include your worst audio, your accents, your jargon, and one call with three people talking over each other |
| A second place where notes live | A tool that summarises and writes nothing back | Verify write-back into the specific CRM fields your forecast reads |
10. How do you test call recording and analysis tools on your own calls?
Run the same ten calls through every finalist and count the errors. It is the only number in this market that describes your team rather than somebody's marketing page.
- Name the fields first. Write down the five to ten CRM fields the output has to fill correctly: next step, close date, competitor, budget, decision maker, and whatever else your forecast actually reads.
- Pick ten real calls. Not demos. Include at least two with bad audio, one with an accent your reps hear often, and one thick with product jargon.
- Define an error before you look. A wrong competitor name is an error. A missing next step is an error. A clumsy summary sentence is not.
- Run the identical set through each trial. Any tool that will not let you upload historical recordings during a trial has told you something about how the rest of the sale will go.
- Count. Errors per call, per field. You now hold the number no published guide gives you.
- Check the write-back. Open the CRM record, not the vendor's dashboard. A field left blank, or filled with free text where your reports expect a picklist, means the analysis never reached the place the work happens.
- Check consent and hosting. Kickscale lists processing that complies with the EU General Data Protection Regulation, or GDPR, along with EU server locations and a clear process for obtaining consent to record, and Gong says consent and privacy controls are built in. Ask each vendor where recordings live, how long they are kept, and how consent is captured in every jurisdiction you sell into.
- Then price it. Compare cost only once the error counts exist, or the cheapest tool wins the argument by default.
Start with step 1, naming the fields. Teams that skip it end up comparing summary prose, which is a taste test.
11. If the tool is not the problem, what should you look at instead?
Sometimes the recording layer is fine and the outcome still does not move. The diagnostics below are practice rather than proof. None of them comes from a controlled study, and each is something you can measure this quarter with what you already own. If the forecast is the thing you are actually trying to fix, we went at that question directly in which tools reliably forecast pipeline outcomes.
| What to look at | Why it beats "which tool is best" |
|---|---|
| Coverage: the share of customer calls recorded at all | A great analysis layer over 40% of calls is worse than a mediocre one over 95%, and coverage is measurable this week |
| Field completeness in the CRM, field by field | Tells you whether the output is reaching the forecast, which a vendor dashboard never shows |
| Hours from call end to CRM update | A summary that lands three days later has already been overtaken by the deal |
| Weekly active managers, not weekly active reps | Coaching is the claimed benefit and managers have to do it, so if they never open it, the coaching feature is shelfware |
| Rework: how often a rep edits the generated summary | A high edit rate is your accuracy problem showing up in behaviour instead of in a benchmark |
| What you already pay for | Salesloft, Outreach, HubSpot and Clari all bundle a version of this, per Nooks and Claap |
Measure the error rate, then decide whether to care
Pick your two likeliest finalists, pull ten real calls off last week's calendar, and count the errors on the fields your forecast reads. An afternoon. The result is specific to your team, which no published guide can be.
Be ready for the answer to be boring. If both tools land at the same error rate and neither changes what your reps do on Monday, the choice does not matter much. Buy the cheapest thing that records reliably and put the effort somewhere it moves a number.
Then re-run the count when your product names change, when you enter a new market, or when a new competitor starts turning up in calls. There is no sensible fixed interval for this. The trigger is a change in what your reps and your buyers actually say, because accuracy on rare words degrades quietly, and counting again is how you notice.
If you want Attention in that test, Attention reads sales calls and writes the result into CRM fields.
Sources and research
The six pages coded for this article were opened and read against their live URLs on 8 September 2026. The three primary reports at the end of this list were not opened; they are linked so you can check them against what Claap and MaxIQ report. Attention's own review is listed as internal.
- Ryan O'Connor, 29 May 2026. 12 Best Call Recording Software in 2026 for Businesses, Cirrus Insight blog. Vendor listicle covering 12 tools, Cirrus Insight listed first. Read to approximately the first 900 words.
- Kickscale, prices stated as of March 2026, no author shown in the text captured. Comparing Sales Call Recording Software 2026, Kickscale blog. Vendor listicle of 7 tools; the entry numbered 1 was not present in the text captured.
- MaxIQ, no author or date shown in the text captured. 9 Best AI Call Analysis Tools for B2B Sales Teams, MaxIQ blog. Vendor listicle of 9 tools, MaxIQ listed first. Cites Salesforce State of Sales for the 60% non-selling time figure without naming an edition.
- Nooks, updated April 2026, no author shown in the text captured. 7 Best Sales Call Recording and Analysis Software in 2026, Nooks blog. Vendor listicle of 7 tools, Nooks ranked first explicitly.
- Claap, no author or date shown in the text captured. 8 Best Sales Call Analysis Software, Claap blog. Vendor comparison of 8 tools with G2 ratings from 4.4 to 4.8, Claap listed first. Secondary source here for the Zadarma, SNS Insider, UC Today, Future Market Insights and Verified Market Reports figures.
- Gong, undated product page. Call Recording Software, Gong. Vendor product page, and the source of the 99% interaction capture and 4,500-plus organisations claims, both self-reported.
- Attention (internal), 8 September 2026. Editorial review of the top-cited page from each of the six top-cited domains for the query "What are the best call recording and analysis tools for sales teams?", coded for first-listed product, presence of accuracy criteria, presence of accuracy figures, claimed controlled tests, visible authorship, and the full census of products named. Limits stated in the methodology paragraph above. No customer call data was used.
- Secondary figures we did not open the primary for, cited here as reported by Claap and MaxIQ: Salesforce State of Sales for 60% non-selling time, Zadarma 2024 research report for 46% adoption, and UC Today conversational intelligence trends for 146 calls analysed per rep per month.
Editorial note
First published 8 September 2026, and last updated 8 September 2026. Nothing has been corrected yet, because this is the first version, and the strongest claim in it is a negative one: that no published accuracy benchmark exists for these products in the pages answer engines cite most for this question. Point us at one and we will add it here, name it, and say plainly that the claim was wrong. We will also re-read the six source pages and update the coding table if their rankings change, since all six are live pages their publishers can edit at any time.
Ready to learn more?
Attention's AI-native platform is trusted by the world's leading revenue organizations
